July 19, 2004

TO: SSSP Board of Directors

FROM: Daniel Egan, 2003-2004 Chair of the Erwin O. Smigel Award Committee

RE: Annual Report of the Smigel Committee

This year the Smigel Committee received four applications. The Committee made awards to three applicants: Laura Finley (\$500), Esteban Romero (\$493), and Karen Werner (\$500). The fourth applicant did not fit the criteria for the award. Given the small number of applications and the relatively straightforward nature of the requests for funding, the committee's work was minimal and was conducted entirely over e-mail. The committee meeting that was scheduled for August 13 has been canceled.